2012 IN REVIEW: Thanks for the Dance

Sixteen months ago I was drawing a ruined Byzantine palace on the Marmara Sea. There had been many such projects and I often sent long detailed emails about them to friends. This time, one such friend showed me how to put it up as a post. That was fifty posts ago. At first I felt like I was taking a shower with the curtains open. Now I feel like I am dancing with the whole world. Thank you for this dance.

Boukoleon Portals ©2011 Trici Venola

Boukoleon Portals ©2011 Trici Venola

As it shows in the report below, this blog is read by people in Uganda and Bolivia and Afghanistan, in Texas and California, Van and Istanbul. Years ago, an untraveled art student in Los Angeles, I fell asleep at night imagining Greece and Rome and Egypt, and now I have pen pals there.  Pretty heady stuff!

I’m glad I’m able to stay in Istanbul, living on art. It takes everything I’ve got. I’m not able to travel much, but my blog does! This is a bloody miracle. I was born before the computer revolution. Actually I was part of it. One of the first digital artists on the Mac, I got to be in the center of that fabulous technological and cultural maelstrom. I remember Life Before Internet. So I don’t take any of this for granted. I hope I never do.

Night Talk Stars 72

Night Talk.Stars ©2000 Trici Venola.

 

I recently watched a program about the Cygnus Mystery. Cygnus is a constellation in the Milky Way in the shape of a flying swan. The West calls it the Northern Cross. The stars of Cygnus form the guide to the layout of ancient temples around the world, including Turkey’s Gobekli Tepe. The ancients were far more savvy than most of us suspect. It’s probable that many civilizations, as advanced as ours or more, have risen, peaked and fallen away long before recorded history. A dark star near Cygnus causes cosmic rays from stars in Cygnus to beam Earthward, bombarding our DNA with cosmic particles. This may account for dramatic accelerations in human development. Musing on such things took me right out of worrying about survival and put my perspective up there with the wheeling constellations of the galaxies. It’s comforting to realize that the world doesn’t rest on my shoulders. It’s equally comforting to realize that it’s resting on everyone’s. Thank you for your company on this journey.

STARS

 

——-

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2012 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

4,329 films were submitted to the 2012 Cannes Film Festival. This blog had 36,000 views in 2012. If each view were a film, this blog would power 8 Film Festivals

Click here to see the complete report.

3 thoughts on “2012 IN REVIEW: Thanks for the Dance

Leave a Reply

